Using Heart Of Dakatoa

Good Evening Everyone! I have been searching for weeks for a kindergarten curriculum that would be fun and exciting for an active little boy. I received a Heart of Dakota catalog in the mail and it looks like a good program with easy to follow plans. Has anyone tried it? What did you think? Do you have a different suggestion for me? Any input would be helpful!

1 Like

I am in my fourth year using it. We love it! Feel free to ask me anything.

3 Likes

I have friends that looooove HOD! I used their Little Hands to Heaven with Bo, and loved it but he got bored of it. It’s very repetitive, but sweet and gentle. I didn’t like the role playing but loved the crafts and other activities. I just ordered Bigger Hearts for His Glory for my 8 year old for American History, I’m ready to settle down into a routine with a boxed curriculum before I start another literature based unit study curriculum when we are done.

If you are considering it, I’d spend some time on their forum or Facebook community - lots of helpful advice there. Just remember that it’s okay to tweak as needed for your situation. HOD is written with specific materials in mind (and they are scheduled in, so it is a little harder to tweak, but it can be done).

1 Like

You’re so right! The beauty of HOD is that you can swap out something (like math or grammar) if you prefer a different resource. It’s all about working with your child’s needs. I would agree with dlhomeschool about the Yahoo and Facebook groups…all the mommas are awesome and we share a lot of very helpful information and printables :slight_smile:

3 Likes