Should I leave online schooling?

I have been using a K12 school for the five years I have been homeschooling, and I have come to the conclusion that it has been a big mistake. I am not allowed to set my own schedule, nor take sick days, and we don’t even have time for field trips or fun activities. It is extremely stressful and I am so burnt out. There is no time, and heaven forbid if we get behind. My children have so many tests they have to do every year it is ridiculous. And when they have to turn in assignments even if they do everything they are supposed to that is a “c” and not an “a.” I am thinking of pulling my 4th grader and Kinder student next year, but I am worried about doing it by myself - but I am so done with K12. I guess my question is: am I making the right choice by doing it myself? Sorry for rambling, but this is weighing heavily on my mind. Thank you!

@sgrrrbear I am not a longtime homeschooler, but in my opinion if you are stressed and burned out your kids will be as well. There are so many other choices out there. In fact one of the problems I have is choice overload. There are curriculums for every style and need and you can mix and match as your heart desires. This site has some great info regarding homeschool conventions and suggested curricula for different kids/situations. Grab a notebook and jot down some responses and ideas. Good luck!

1 Like