Support (or lack of) from family and friends

Hiya. So, I have a question (ok, 2 actually)…how many of you are experiencing the problem of family (or friends) taking advantage of your time simply because “you’re home,” so much so that they interrupt your lessons on a regular basis leaving you with the feeling that you are doing your child (ren) an injustice to their learning?

1. What about those same family members (or friends) constantly badgering you to go back to work (I am a certified teacher who left the classroom to homeschool my son) and telling you that you that you should put your child back into public school so that you can either have more time for said family or so that you actually have a “real” job?

How are you being interrupted?
If it is the phone, you can turn it off or turn it to vibrate. (If you were in the classroom, would you answer your phone?)
If it is people coming to your front door, make some kind of sign that says: “School in Progress between hours of 8a.m.-2p.m.” Then lock and do not answer the door.

As far as number 2. This is a personal boundaries issue. Anytime someone else (even family) tells me that they know what is best for my life, in any way, they have crossed an enormous personal space line and have been rude. I am an engineer personality type, so my response is very straightforward: “I find it incredibly rude that you are dictating what is best for my life. Please do not tell me how to live unless I directly ask for your advice.” Even if your personality makes those words too harsh, the content needs to be the same: These are my choices, then change the subject.

It is up to you to make clear to your family where your boundaries are for time and unsolicited advice. At some point you will have to make clear that your time and choices are not theirs for the taking.

4 Likes