Sonlight Curriculum

Hey Ladies!
I’m a newbie to homeschooling and just order Sonlights P4/5 for my boys. Does anyone have personal feedback about this curriculum? I like what I’ve read online and can’t wait to get started!

4 Likes

We used Sonlight Cores B+C, D, and E. We love Sonlight!

Do you share a curriculum between two children? I am going to try to involve my two year old as much as possible during the P4/5. If anything else we will just repeat it in a year and a half with him.

I’ve done SL since P3/4 with my oldest, who is now 8. We’re doing Core B now, because I deliberately slowed her down by adding a ton of stuff to Core B, since I’ve heard from others that you don’t really want to start Core D too soon.

For combining, I find that the early cores are light enough that it makes sense to keep each child at their own level. For instance, I have a 6-year-old (was 5 at the start of the school year, so she’s kindergarten) and an older 4-year-old (was 4 at the start of the school year), so they’re a year apart. This year, I had the older of the two doing P4/5 and the younger P3/4. I would just read one P3/4 book first, both listening, then I’d do the schedule P4/5 readings and the younger one was welcome to listen as she wished or wander off to play.

I just started combining the two of them, though. I’m doing my own thing for a year, a sort of geography tour of the world, but using a lot of books from P4/5 again, which the 4-year-old is now ready for. When I finish, probably sometime this fall/winter, I’ll combine the two of them together in Core A. So combining can work, but I just don’t think it’s worth it until you get to at least about Core A when the reading starts to pick up more.