Notebooking Help

This is our first year homeschooling so we are still working some kinks out. We have been using Noeo biology 2 all year for our science with my kindergartener (he just listens) and then 3rd and 5th graders. I love the content and topics but I am having a hard time figuring how to best implement the notebooking which is entirely what this program is based on. To be fair this is a completely new concept for my girls because I know they never did this in public school. The notebooking pages are very open ended and they have a hard time knowing what to write, how much, etc and it ends up lacking much content. The 5th grader does better than my 3rd grader. I am wondering what the best way is to give them some guidance and help them learn how to write pages that contain more information and direction. I think it’s SO open ended they just don’t know where to start.

1 Like

@Lindsay - I have no experience with notebooking, so this may be of no help. I have seen many pictures of student notebooking pages, and they always seem so informative, neat and beyond impressive. However, I feel the parents of those kiddos must have super human teaching qualities, or those students must LOVE writing. My daughter will do anything to get out of writing more than 1-2 sentences, so then I’m left with, like you said, something that takes a LONG time, and doesn’t include much content (granted, my daughter is in second grade.) Soooo - I read on a blog somewhere, that teaching kids to take notes and learn what to write is important, and doing “guided reports” and “guided notes” can be a helpful first start. So here’s what I’ve been doing (again, this may have nothing to do with what you want!) We are studying different famous people. So I came up with a “fill in the blank” biography template. It has basic questions like, “Name:___, Born:, Died:, Place of Birth:” etc, then it has larger sections for questions like, “What was a struggle this person faced?, What did this person