Moving forward after AAR level 1

I’m thinking of moving into something a little more affordable now that my son has completed all about reading level 1. He will transition into emerging leaders but I feel that a little more phonics instruction would help. I was leaning toward explode the code, however I have no experience using this product and was wondering what you Mommies thought about it and where are you think he would place. He’ll be going into 2nd grade.

I have no experience with EtC.
What about moving forward with some phonics readers (I really loved the American Language Series books: http://www.rainbowresource.com/product/sku/042639 at that stage). And continuing instruction using All About Spelling (only $40 a level)?

I hope you find the combination of instruction and finance you are looking for.

1 Like

Explode the Code is worksheet oriented. Some kids love it and others hated it. My DD who used to hate writing hated ETC. Phonics Pathways is only $20 and could be used to pick up where you left off after AAR 1. Reading Lessons Through Literature is $30 per level or $25 in ebook. My cousin is using Ordinary Parents Guide to Teaching Reading and thinks it is effective. I have never seen it in person though.

@dragonflyer I just looked at the readers from your link and really liked them! Did I read right that each book is 96 pgs or more?!! That’s a wonderful value!! When did your child start reading these books?

I have a natural reader so, he began sounding out CVC words around 3. We went through the Bob books set 2, then we started in on Scamp and Tramp. The book was a perfect stepping stone because the stories start at 4 lines and get longer. The book was 176 pages and by the end some stories were 3-4 “pages.” Most of the words were short vowels and just kept practicing the digraphs. I think we finished shortly after his 4th bday. I wish I had Soft and White to transition into, but I just moved into Frog and Toad from there.