Math U See vs. Singapore Math

Hi everyone,

I just submitted my paper work to pull my DD (going to Grade 2) out from public school for HS! So, I’m super excited to starting getting the curriculum ready! I’ve been comparing these two math programs, not sure which one I should go with! I read rave review about Math U See and I was just about to purchase it, but then, I heard about Singapore Math. Has anyone trying both of them, what’s your thoughts/experience with these? I like how Math U See have DVD and it explains the fundamental idea of numbers, but, I’m a bit concern that’s a mastery based, as I don’t expect my DD to perform 3 digits multiplication! So, I’m not sure how to choose now. Any inputs will be greatly appreciated!

1 Like

@blacktea I have no experience with Singapore Math, but I do with MUS, so I will discuss that. I LOVED the Alpha and Beta sets (adding and subtracting) and feel that the manipulatives helped my daughter a great deal. The trouble we had was when we started Gamma (multiplication). My daughter has learning challenges and when we hit double digit multiplication, we hit the wall. We switched to “lattice multiplication” which worked (a technique, not a curriculum). Then, for division, we moved to a Montessori based method (stamp game - which is neither a game, nor has stamps. Go figure). But it is manipulative based and works well for her.

Others have had wonderful success with Math U See in the Gamma stage (and beyond) and their customer service is stellar. Hope this info helps.