Is IEW as time consuming as it looks?

I just ordered and received IEW level A. I looked through it and it looks like it would be time consuming for me to implement with my 2 4th graders next yr. this wouldn’t be a problem except I will have kindergartner learning to read, an almost 3 yr old learning to behave and an almost 1 yr old learning all kinds of things. I am thinking about shelving it til 5th grade when my youngest children will be slightly more independent. I already have BJU English and I think I will just use the writing portion of that. Any thoughts?

1 Like

Hahaha - I can’t possibly answer your question because I have no experience with IEW, but I LOVE this line you typed: “this wouldn’t be a problem except I will have kindergartner learning to read, an almost 3 yr old learning to behave and an almost 1 yr old learning all kinds of things.” - so funny (and another inspiring mom!) - brightened my evening :smile:

8 Likes

Lol! I am a curriculum collector. I love so much of what I see but actually implementing it when I am holding a fat, squishy baby on my hip and trying to get my 2 yr old to quit using the glue stick as lipstick is another story!! I am sure other of you sweet mamas can relate!!

6 Likes

No good answers here, either. But I’ve been wandering something similar. I’d settled on BJU English for my 3rd and 5th graders, but I’ve been trying to decide whether to add IEW, or stick with the BJU writing portion for a year and see how it goes. I’ve also considered CTGE +/- IEW. I have a love/hate relationship with choosing curriculum. :grin: