How to go from "play" to "school"

Hello everyone! So I am curious how any of you that started with Homeschooling from the beginning. (your children were never in public school) Transitioned your kids from “playing” to actually doing “school” work. I am a preschool teacher gone SAHM since my children were born. I know I want to HS them but even as a preschool teacher I am at a lost as how to train their brains that certain times are going to be “school” and not just time to free play. I know that there is a lot of learning to be done in play (one of my biggest reasons for wanting to homeschool) , and I am not talking about making them sit down for hours to do seat work. But I really am at a loss as how to really get started. They are already use to being home, and we do lots of learning throughout the day, but I know at some point a more focused learning time (that is a good way to put it!) is going to be necessary. So how did you start doing your school work? What did you do on that “first day of school” to help your children learn to have a scheduled focused learning time? Thanks!!