History - BJU vs Notgrass

Hi! I will be homeschooling my 5th and 3rd graders for the first time. I’ve narrowed my history curriculum down to BJU and Notgrass. Do you prefer one over the other? Any insight would be so helpful! I’m more of a math and science lover, but I want my boys to have a great understanding of history. I’m looking for something with little prep work. Thanks!

Hi, I have no personal experience with BJU. Currently, my 7th grader is using Notgrass America the Beautiful and doing well and enjoying it. No prep work for me- he does it mostly on his own and I just check his work. Each chapter has a list of assignments at the end using workbook, timeline, maps, etc. You are not required to do all of them- your choice. It could work for your 5th grader if they are independent or you could alternatively give the lesson as a read-aloud (which I do sometimes because the book is interesting to me!) I am also using Notgrass Our Star Spangled Story with my 2 younger kids. I read them a chapter a few times a week plus there is a workbook page for each chapter, a read-aloud novel, and a few activities listed at the end of each chapter. No real prep work unless supplies are needed for a project. I’ve found it very easy to use.