Daughter Struggling with Homeschool

This is my first year homeschooling my children. My daughter was in public school for kindergarten last year. We discussed homeschooling frequently over the summer to pump her up about it. The first week began well, but now that she has truly come to realize that she will not be going back to public school, she gets really hum drum about everything. She makes comments about how she can’t wait for the weekends and that she hopes we don’t homeschool next year.

I know it’s really early in the school year and I suspect things will go well once we get into a good routine, I’m just wondering the best way to go about these feelings. Has anyone been in this situation before?

Thanks!

*An added note- while we can’t afford to put her in a lot of extra-curriculars, she is in a dance class and AWANA. So she does get moments throughout the week to interact with other children (as well as play with her siblings.)

1 Like