Choosing to homeschool when at a private Christian school and things are going "well"

So I read a lot about people pulling their kids out of public school due to Common Core, no religious ed, learning disabilities, bullying, etc. However, my daughter is in a Catholic elementary school (no Common Core…daily religion and Mass) that has been rated one of the top ten private schools in our state. My husband and his parents are all alums. It’s a K-12 school and a very close-knit community. My daughter, for all appearances, does well academically and has a really great teacher in 1st grade. The administration has been supportive as well. However, I started researching HS’ing when my daughter was a baby (I have a Masters in Education) and it has always intrigued me. She is a highly sensitive child and I just feel like her love of learning and life in general has decreased since starting Kindergarten. Her kinder teacher was NOT good and had a very harsh demeanor. She has actually asked to be homeschooled, which kind of surprises me as I’m not even really sure how she knows about it as we have zero friends that do it. Anyone else out there choose to homeschool their child after attending Catholic or another “good” private school where there weren’t any big issues??

We our preparing to pull my son out of a private Christian school. For us it was a descission based on not having enough family time (hubby is in medical field and does shify work) but backed by his special needs (adhd, spd, and articulation disorder). While the school was great at loving him and meeting his needs when possible, God has been calling me to do this as well. Honestly it wasn’t until the last couple of months where I connected the dots and realized I’m suppose to homeschool. I know when I go in to tell them it will be a tearful conversation but I know this is best for our family.

2 Likes