Child forgets what she learned

I have been homeschooling my granddaughter for 5 years. Last year I had her repeat 3rd grade. For the simple fact it did not seem that she could not comprehend or retain the information. It seems that we are having the same thing going on this year. She does good the first day with the new information she learned . It is like when she went to sleep she forgot to.

It could be that the method/curriculum you have chosen is just not engaging or interesting to her. I had the same problem. I would teach everything one day and the next day it was almost as though I hadn’t taught anything. I was using traditional style curriculum at the time, Abeka, CLE etc…
So after a few years of this I made a huge jump by trying Sonlight and Heart of Dakota, with this change in approach I found information was more easily retained because my children were engaged in what they were learning and they were working with the material.
I am no longer using the above curriculum because I made another huge jump as I loved how this worked. I am now using a method where History/Social studies and Science are family subjects and even though I have picked the era we are learning about and the Science topic, they are able to go deeper into it according to interests. I.e this years History is Ancient Civilizations, so when we learn about Egypt one child might research/do a project on Pyramids and the other may choose to learn more about jewelry. Doing it this way I find the information is more easily retained because it is according to interests and learning styles.

Hope this helps :slight_smile:

1 Like