Child diagnosed with Arthritis

Hi Moms,

My son has been diagnosed with juvenile arthritis recently and I am just struggling. He will be 6 this year and we have known that something was going on since he started walking. We have seen many doctors who didn’t do much with him or listen to me for the last 5 years and so much of my focus went to advocating for him that it didn’t really register that his issues could be something so……big seeming.
I know that a diagnoses does’t change what his life has been or will be, but for some reason today it’s all hitting me. Will he outgrow this? What will he have to go through during his growing years? Will the constant flow of advil and tylenol do damage to other parts of him? DId I do something wrong when I was pregnant? I know that God is in control of this and I’ve always held my kids with an open hand to Him. But tonight, it feels too big and God seems too far…

1 Like

As a pediatric nurse, I say this as clearly as I can: YOU DID NOTHING WRONG. As to your other questions, Tylenol and ibuprofen are harmful in large doses, but if you give the prescribed amount, it should be fine. Many doctors also recommend Naprosyn (brand name Aleve).

Will he have some tough days? Yes. But he will also have some great ones. Depending on the type of arthritis, he may have some challenges. Swimming seems to be very helpful for a lot of kids with JRA/JIA. And some kids CAN grow out of it by early adulthood. (Is he rheumatoid factor negative or positive?)

I recommend finding a support group for JRA (also known as Juvenile Ideopathic Arthritis). Larger cities have in-person support groups for parents. There are also some online support groups:

Facebook

CureArthritis

Child-geared website (to help explain it on more basic level)
http://kidshealth.org/en/kids/juv-rheum-arthritis.html

Kids Get Arthritis, Too