Brand new to home school

My name is Ana. I have two girls and my oldest is getting ready for school. I am new to exploring the home school option. My husband and I both want this for our girls and just don’t know where to being. Any help would be appreciated!

Welcome! You have come to the right place. I love this community. There is a lot of support here and lots of questions already answered. I’m also a newbie as we will be starting in the fall this year. And I have learned so much so far.

-Alyssa

1 Like

my daughter will be 4 in May so we are stating with the preschool programming… we live in CA and not sure about all of the legislation. Still doing research.

Check out erica’s store.she has a letter of the week and a K4 curriculum. Also you can watch erica’s video on YouTube about the K4 curriculum. It’s a full curriculum and I’m planning on using it for my daughter who is starting preschool this year. We will be doing a mix of pre-k and kindergarten. But lite on the kindergarten.

Perfect. I was looking at that. Does anyone know how to go about letting the school district know she is home schooled or do we have to register somewhere?

That’s not something I know. But for me I googled my state’s homeschool laws. That’s the easiest way to find out what is required

Thank you! I will have to go ahead and do that. Do you all teach the 5 days a week or what kind of schedule do you guys like?

Well we will be officially homeschooling in the fall but we will be doing a 5 day schedule.

I think you as a mom know your child’s strengths and weaknesses and what would work best for your child. For a 4 yr old attention span is short so keeping lessons fun short and to the point is best no matter how many days you choose.

Thank you so much for the advise!

Visit the Homeschool Legal Defense Association website for information on laws concerning homeschool in your state: https://www.hslda.org/laws/default.asp