BJU English or IEW for first year homeschooling?

I will have a 3rd and 5th grader next year. I am really torn between these 2 programs. IEW looks amazing but I don’t want to overwhelm my girls right out of the gate. I was thinking of doing BJU next year and then maybe IEW the next school year. Any thoughts or suggestions from people who have used these?

I have no experience with either of these curriculums. While you didn’t ask for any other recommendations, I highly recommend Voyages in English. In any event, regardless of what you choose, GOOD LUCK! :slight_smile:

I’ve only used IEW Writing program, so I can’t comment on their grammar, spelling, or reading programs. But I can say that I love the IEW writing! I use that in conjunction with BJU English for our grammar. I just skip the BJU Writing chapters and do the English/Grammar chapters since I don’t really like how BJU teaches writing.

2 Likes

We are experienced IEW users here. I just used Bible heroes and all things fun and fascinating With my two younger boys. I have a lot more confidence after teaching my older children with SWI A/the DVDs. IEW now has lower-level riding lessons and they are wonderful. You can never help your kids too much and I wished I had started my 2 oldest at an earlier age. My boys didn’t find it overwhelming at all. They actually were very excited to do Bible heroes. Hope that helps. Kelly

I am just worried that I am picking to many teacher intensive curriculums for next year. I will be teaching 3 kids for the first time and I don’t want to overwhelm myself :grin:

IEW’s SWI A (student writing intensive level student writing intensive level A) is a set of DVDs where Andrew Pudewa actually “teaches” the lessons. You come along Side and help them throughout the week. They also have a supplemental file that helps complement lower grade levels too so you could actually teach them both at the same time, but to their grade level.
Best wishes,
Kelly

1 Like