Anyone Use Jump In, Wordsmith, BJU, or Voyage of English for Writing?

Anyone Use Jump In, Wordsmith, BJU, or Voyage of English for Writing? I’m interested in what you think. Did your kids enjoy them? Did they seem to learn? How much of these programs focus on grammar and how much focus on writing process? Thanks a bunch.

Hey - we use Voyages and love it (although we’ve only used grades 1-2 so far… I now own grades 3 and 5, but this coming year will be our first year using the older grades). It is 50% writing and 50% grammar - each month focuses on a different type of writing combined with a different type of grammar. We use it because it works for us, and until it doesn’t, I don’t plan on switching. However, I’ve also heard great things about Shirley Writing and IEW. Good luck! :slight_smile:

Do you think Voyages would work with a reluctant writer? A child who struggles a bit with creativity?

@goldenecho - in my past life I was a teacher in a private school, and that is how I fell upon Voyages. The younger grades of Voyages (Grades 1 and 2) broke the writing process down into many manageable steps. For writers that “know what they’re doing” - the process can be accelerated, but I liked the pace it was “meant” to be taught at - it was perfect for my young students who were basically new and reluctant to writing.