AAR without AAS?

I have a son going into 1st grade next month. We used My Father’s World Kinder, along with Explode the Code and BOB books. He is reading cvc words well, but that’s it so far.

I have used MFW 1st grade with my other 2 older sons but am considering using AAR this time around. I will start with level 1. However, I really like Spelling You See and want to use that. Has anyone used AAR without using AAS? I’m wondering if it will work okay…

1 Like

I’ve been using AAR for 3 years with 2 of my kids. I absolutely love AAR! My daughter was a struggling reader, and my son was advanced in reading. The program worked great for both of them; they have both made wonderful progress.

However, I am just not a fan of AAS. I tried it one year, and it was a real struggle. I know some families really love it, but it just wasn’t working for us. I gave up on it and will actually be trying Spelling U See this year.

Luckily, AAR and AAS are both stand-alone curriculums. You don’t have to do both. Just do what works for you and your kids.

1 Like

@momto4 I totall agree with @julie :slight_smile: We have used AAR for 3 years along with AAS for two levels. AAS has been a bit tougher for me to enjoy (and my kids). I can’t pinpoint why exactly, it just feels like we’re trudging through it each day. Although, it is spelling, so maybe that’s just the nature of some subjects?

This next year my oldest (4th grade) will be finishing AAR 3 and we are dropping AAS for her at this point. Her spelling is highly above level (high school level), so we are going with IEW’s Phonetic Zoo program and starting her on their middle school level so that she will have somewhere to progress to after she finishes Level B (then she can do Level C).