New school supplies

This is my first year to feel the need to buy all new school supplies (i.e. my kids care enough now about getting things ‘new’ :o). What are your thoughts on buying everything new, and if so, what do you do with the old things? Obviously if markers are dried out, crayons are broken, it’s probably time to replenish them! But what about colored pencils that are half used, but still work and color? Or crayons that are still usable but are definitely not new? Do you all purchase brand new of everything each year to get your kiddos excited about starting the school year, or do you try to reuse what you have? If you buy mostly new, what do you do with your old supplies that still have some life left to them?

1 Like

I reuse some things and some things I toss, and other things I get new every year. I usually toss out our crayons and get new because you can pick them up at Wal-Mart so cheaply and there is something special about a brand new pack of crayons! I reuse a lot, but like you noted, having some new things helps to create some back to school excitement! I like to get fun erasers, new notebooks, and just a few things to grab my kids interest. Honestly, I love school supplies too! :grin: I did put old but still good colored pencils in an old pencil box to keep for myself. I use the for color coding my Bible and coloring myself!

I usually buy new crayons when they’re on sale, but we have tons of crayons (and at least one unopened pack that I know of), so I probably won’t buy any this year. The only thing I can even think of that I need to get is more filler paper. Last year, I got a huge package (couple inches thick) that was pretty awesome. I told my daughter she could have free reign with it and she only used about 2/3 of it. I LOVE looking at school supplies. Since we need so little, I’ll let her pick out a couple of things she would like to have for the new school year, and see what else catches my eye.