Child doesn't Remember

I m having trouble with Cupcake who is in third grade. She is having trouble with remembering rules in reading (sounding out words). I am getting so frustrated and I know it is making her too. I think I am more worried that see will not read well enough to pass the end of the year testing. If she does not do well my husband wants to put her in public school. Please Help

Hi there @Suzann4848 I am no expert but I thought I’d weigh in just to offer some support and encouragement. Just a quick question so I know a bit more where you’re coming from: what reading program are you using (if we happen to be using something similar I might be able to offer some better advice)? My daughter is also in 3rd grade and this is our 4th year homeschooling (including her Kindergarten year). We aren’t required to do any testing, so I am not able to be very helpful on that front, unfortunately.

To me, it sounds like Cupcake may have moved too quickly through some foundational reading progress along the way–perhaps moved forward when she may not have been ready to? The answer may be to go back in the curriculum you are using and re-learn from the point where you and she felt comfortable. Of course a lot of reading aloud together can be tremendously helpful–even through longer chapter books. For awhile she may need to take a break from reading while you read to her and she follows along. I know this all may seem very tough while a test looms in the future. Especially if you feel pressure of her needing to perform well in order for you to be able to continue with homeschool. But certainly if you are feeling that pressure, she is likely to as well. But above everything, what is most important is her positive progress in reading and both of you not feeling pressure and stress together.