Certified teacher

Hi…how do I go about finding a certified teacher to look over my daughters school work for this year? Any input would be appreciated.

Can you explain in further detail what you mean? Do you just want someone to check the curriculum you’ve chosen to use? Do you want someone to grade her work? Do you want someone to check in with once in a while to let you know how she’s doing? All of this is possible, but I don’t believe most people do this when homeschooling. What grade is your daughter in? Thanks!

We are nearing the end of her 4th grade year and this is my first year traditionally homeschooling. We were with OHVA up until last fall. I know I need a licensed, certified teacher to look over her 4th grade school work and sign an Academic Assessment Form so I can submit it to the superintendent showing she is ready to enter 5th grade.

Sorry to sound confused, I’m just trying to clarify. Your daughter was in a virtual school last year (for 3rd grade?). Beginning this past Autumn you started homeschooling 4th grade? Now you need a form signed so you can begin 5th grade. Will this be 5th grade homeschool or 5th grade at a traditional (or virtual) school?

Is this a state requirement? In my state that is not a necessary step.

I would start by calling schools, particularly the one in your district, to see if any of the teachers offer that type of service. Most, if not all, teachers in a public school are certified and licensed in their state.

Something to consider is the type of certificate a teacher has. For instance in my state teachers are certified for preschool-2nd grade or 1st-6th or middle school and then in high school they are subject specific. If this is true in your state you would need to make sure that the teacher who asses your daughter’s work has the correct certification if that is required.